Dreaming Into Reality

Dreams become a reality only when you work hard for them

What Makes You Feel Old? February 16, 2013

Filed under: General — jolchowy25 @ 10:30 am

The other day, I was on Pinterest when I came across a pin that listed the ages of the kids on Friends. My reaction was, “wow, thank makes me feel old.” Then I started thinking, “what exactly is ‘old’?” I’m a mid twenty something year old and to me, old is just how you feel, not a number. Something else that got me thinking was a comment my younger cousin made when I said something and she had no idea what I was talking about.  So, here is my list of things that make me feel old.

Can You Hear Me Now? Good.

I grew up without a cell phone and laptop. I got my first phone in high school and it was a brick. I’m pretty sure it was a Nokia 5100. There were no iPhones (which I have now and absolutely love).  Looking back, I don’t know how I survived without a phone (or even a phone with internet access). I do everything on my phone, half the time even blogging from it!

As far as the internet and computers, the first desktop I had included AOL and a dial up connection. If anyone wanted to make a phone call, you had to get off the internet. Luckily, those times have changed and you can access the internet from pretty much any where thanks to wireless networks.

BMW

I don’t mean the car with this one. I’m talking about Boy Meets World, the television show that made the Feeny call oh so popular. This is actually one show a kid could sit and watch with their parents. And to this day still can.

Why does this show make me feel old though? They are in the process of filming a spinoff called Girl Meets World.  The spinoff will focus on the main character’s (Cory and Topanga) daughter, Riley as she grows up. I don’t know if this show will last, but if it’s anything like the original, it’s already got a fan in me.

Double P

Two words: Polly Pocket. Growing up, these were miniature and compact. When I look at the size of them today I think, “wow, they gave us choking hazards growing up.” No worries though. I guess I was smart enough not to stick the pieces up my nose or swallowing them because I don’t remember any trips to the ER.

Beanie Babies

I remember getting my first one like it was yesterday. I had just left Xhilarama for a birthday party, a couple days after getting my ears pierced. My mom said I could get a Ty Beanie Baby. There was a bunch to choose from, but I finally decided on Mel the koala bear. Even now, when I see them in the stores, I go through them in hopes there is one of those elusive ones I have always wanted but never able to find.

Here is just a brief list of items that make me feel old. What about you? What makes you feel old? I would love to read about them in the comments!

 

Leave a Reply

